Current IssuesInformation about B.U.R.R.A. Contact information for B.U.R.R.A.Site MapHome Page

News items from November 2007

‹‹ Back to Latest News

13 November 2007

Queanbeyan Mayor appointed to NSW Grants Commission

Queanbeyan Shire Mayor Frank Pangallo has been appointed to the NSW Local Government Grants Commission.

In a press statement, NSW Minister for Local Government, Paul Lynch, said Cr Pangallo was appointed until 30 June 2012.

The NSW Local Government Grants Commission is a statutory authority established under the Local Government Act 1993.

The Commission distributes Financial Assistance Grants funding from the Federal Government. Each State and Territory has a Local Government Grants Commission.

Mr Lynch said Cr Pangallo was a welcome appointment.

"He has the knowledge, skills and experience for this important role in the distribution of $559 million Commonwealth grants each year," he said.

Member for Monaro Steve Whan also welcomed Cr Pangallo's appointment.

"Cr Pangallo is a respected figure in our region and is also making an impact for rural communities as chair of the NSW Country Mayors Association," Mr Whan said.

Other appointments to the NSW Local Government Grants Commission include:

  • Chair Richard Colley - a former Bankstown City Council General Manager (1999-2007)

  • Dr Elizabeth Coombs - a senior executive with extensive public sector management experience in human services, State-owned corporations and the Department of Premier and Cabinet

Related link: NSW Grants Commission Home Page

Top of page


Last updated: 14 March, 2010

© 2007 Burra Urila Residents and Ratepayers Association Inc